It’s been 3 months! Did I finally get a ‘life’?

Nope.

However, there are many things that happened which would be a waste not to blog about.
After all the main reason why I had this blog in the first place was to.. well.. blog.

1. I graduated!

Well, almost. I finally finished school around May,
so all I’m doing now is wasting my life away waiting for my Graduation Show and Graduation Ceremony for that ‘official’ status and to collect my diploma!

2. FYP went well!

Better than expected actually! Thankful to have my Jellynub as my FYP partner. Thank you! :3

3. I got tickets to The XX. (before it was sold out!)

Photo 18-6-13 12 22 52 AM1

I view this as an achievement because it sold out really quickly, hehe. They’re also one of my favorite bands, and I just HAD to catch them live.
I’m going alone, however. But it’s okay. I’LL MAKE FRIENDS THERE!

4. I completed a few great noteworthy games:

Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon, Bioshock Infinite, Metro Last Light.
I will be doing an extremely delayed post on Bioshock Infinite soon. (Haha, this might mean a wait of another 3 months.)
I intended for a Metro Last Light post, but due to my wonky copy of the game *ahem*, my screenshots were of a messed up resolution. SAD.

I really enjoyed Metro though. I dare say I might have found it more immersive than Bioshock, since Metro makes you actually FEEL more.
In fact, I had to pause a few times in the game cause I was too creeped out. Maybe it’s cause I’m too much of a wuss. Heh.
It’s less linear than Bioshock too.
But then again both games has it’s pros and cons.

To summarize it really quickly:
Blood Dragon was the most entertaining, Infinite was really beautiful & had an amazing ending, Metro was a memorable & decision-driven game that deserves more attention.

5. I’m moving to London in September.

Because…

6. I got into a university! 

Photo 18-6-13 1 26 15 AM

Honestly I thought I would not be able to get in,
due to my lack of good works in my portfolio and my crappy GPA (before I found out my final CGPA).
But I was successful!

I think my interview helped A LOT too, because I got along really well with the interviewer. Even making him laugh out loud often in an awkward quiet office room.
(There were other nervous applicants with other university representatives in the same room.)
So guys, if you’re reading this chunk of text; an interview is the best way to present yourself as an individual and prove yourself if you lack in the portfolio department.
Try your best to not be nervous, and be comfortable. I was nervous too, but I guess the ice broke down really quick. (It was luck that I had a friendly interviewer too.)

So, yeah. I’ll be moving to London in September to start my degree studies on Game Design in Brunel University.
Really excited because I love the department’s affiliations with various game companies and that their faculty is experienced.

I’ll be staying by myself in a university dorm for 3 years and most likely getting a part time job to help ease the financial burden from my parents.
After that, if money and UK Visa issues permit, continue education/land a job!
IT’S TIME FOR LITTLE YASMIN TO GROW UP.
I’ll be separated from my furry little monster cat Naomi too. No more warm cuddles in the night!

A little scared, yes. But excited and anxious, definitely yes too.
12 hours away from Singapore, new country, new environment, new weather, new people, and most of all; new opportunities.

Extremely thankful that my parents are supporting my education costs, because after all, I do not come from a wealthy background.
So it’s a big move I’m making, along with the financial risks, and I am more than determined to make them very proud!
Thank you Mom and Dad. :) So very blessed.

So there you have it.
3 months in 5 general points! I am aware I lead a rather boring life, but hey; it may change in September. Heh.

Leave a Reply

